Pattern: Rocketry Baby Cardigan by Lindsay Pekny
Yarn: Dream in Color Classy (100% superwash merino wool) 1 oz each colour, 2 oz border colour
Needles: US 8/5.0 mm and US 6/4.00 mm Knitpicks circulars
Finished Dimensions: 20″ around body, to fit 6-9 month old
Started: April 16 2009
Finished: April 20 2009

I just recently knocked out this adorable little baby cardi as a shop sample for Urban Yarns.  I had seen Rocketry and Tulip on blogs and always wanted to knit one, and the yarn was also tempting, so all in all this was a very fun and satisfying knit.  Baby things are sooooo quick and easy!  I followed the pattern exactly, and I didn’t make any modifications.  The shop is selling these as kits, so I had to knit one to test that there would be enough yarn included.

The pattern is a seamless top-down knit, which is shaped by increases along raglan ‘seam’ lines.  This makes it a VERY easy, no-fuss knit.  In the end, there is absolutely no seaming to be done, just several ends to be woven in.

I think the little heart buttons are an adorable finishing touch!  I would be VERY happy to knit with this yarn again in the future – it has such wonderfully subtle shifts in colour, and knits up into a very plump, satisfyingly squishy fabric.  I can’t wait until I have friends with babies to knit for!